Clifford Chance International Festival of Fintech Banner Image

Clifford Chance International Festival of Fintech



Tuesday 12 - Thursday 14 March 2024

Virtual Programme

Click on the session titles to view the description and speakers.

Tuesday 12 March 2024
TimeDescriptionLocation
05:00 EDT / 09:00 GMT / 10:00 CET / 17:00 HKT

Keynote opening: Talking Tech with... John Hinshaw, Group COO, HSBC

Clifford Chance Partner, Stella Cramer, and John Hinshaw, Group Chief Operating Officer, HSBC, discuss the growing impact of technology on financial services, including challenges and opportunities for global banks in the fintech era and the potential impact of artificial intelligence and quantum computing. John will draw on his extensive experience transforming and digitising organisations in a wide range of industries.

Speakers: 

John Hinshaw, Group Chief Operating Officer, HSBC

Stella Cramer, Partner, APAC Head of our Tech Group, Clifford Chance

Virtual
07:00 EDT / 11:00 GMT / 12:00 CET / 19:00 HKT

Fintech funding – alternatives to traditional financing

Our panel will discuss the challenges of fintech financing in a high-interest environment, exploring how to most effectively consider funding structures in the current market and how fintechs can best transition from equity funding to more asset-based structures.

Speakers:

Daniel Dobrev, Senior Vice President, Speciality Finance, Fortress Investment Group

Huy Nguyen, CFO and Head of Private Debt, Teylor AG

Soojean Choi, Senior Associate, Clifford Chance

Oliver Kronat, Partner, Head of Global Financial Markets, Clifford Chance

Virtual
09:00 EDT / 13:00 GMT / 14:00 CET / 21:00 HKT

Global crypto - state of play and regulatory priorities

Following highs and lows for the crypto industry in 2023 including notably the conviction of Sam Bankman-Fried of FTX, 2024 promises to be an interesting year. As the first comprehensive regulatory regimes begin to take effect in key financial centres and the world watches the US following the SEC's landmark January 2024 approval of 11 applications for spot Bitcoin ETFs, it is clear that both the market and the regulation governing it are maturing. Our panellists consider how the market is developing and what the priorities are for global regulators. 

Speakers:

Ding Chen, Head of Regulatory, Bullish

Tyler Williams, Head of Regulatory and Legislative Affairs & Regulatory Counsel, Galaxy

Riccardo Coassin, Counsel, Clifford Chance

Steve Gatti, Partner, Clifford Chance

Monica Sah, Partner, Clifford Chance
Virtual
11:00 EDT / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 23:00 HKT

The new era of partner banking: pitfalls and challenges for fintechs in 2024

A recent spate of enforcement actions against sponsor / partner banks and heightened regulatory scrutiny of the bank-fintech partnerships underpinning banking-as-a-service (BaaS) and embedded finance products pose challenges in 2024 and beyond. Our panel will reflect on the market headwinds of 2023, the ever-evolving landscape for banking and payments services in the United States, and the commercial and contractual keys for a successful bank-fintech partnership moving forward.

Additional speakers to be confirmed

Speakers:

Katie Cragg, Global Lead for Partnerships, Stripe

Young Kim, Counsel, Clifford Chance

Vipul Nishawala, Partner, Clifford Chance

Virtual
Wednesday 13 March 2024
TimeDescriptionLocation
05:00 EDT / 09:00 GMT / 10:00 CET / 17:00 HKT

Digital bonds – the next phase

The past few years have seen key milestones in the development of digital capital markets as individual jurisdictions adapt their legal frameworks, sandboxes are set up for experimentation and innovative DLT-based issuances attract attention. Offering investors opportunities for diversification and issuers a new source of liquidity, we will discuss what's coming next for the digital bonds market across Europe, in APAC and beyond.

Speakers:

Martijn Siebrand, Digital Assets at Strategy & Innovation, ABN AMRO Bank N.V.

Laurence Van Der Loo, Managing Director, Technology and Operations, Asia Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (ASIFMA)

Mark Chan, Partner, Clifford Chance

Dewi Walian, Counsel, Clifford Chance

Virtual
08:00 EDT / 12:00 GMT / 13:00 CET / 20:00 HKT

Fintech in the Middle East – key developments and considerations for entering the market

Our panelists will cover key fintech developments for businesses operating in or considering expanding into the Middle East, focusing on the United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia. They will discuss market developments and the regulatory landscape across key fintech areas including digital assets, payments and CBDCs.

Speakers:

Nahim Bassa, SVP: Group Head of Strategy & Digital Transformation, Marketing & PR, Bank Aljazira

Bryan D'Souza, Head of Business Development & Partnerships, Middle East, R3

Jack Hardman, Partner, Clifford Chance

Sahel Mughal, Partner, Clifford Chance

Kimberly Ng, Senior Associate, Clifford Chance

Virtual
09:00 EDT / 13:00 GMT / 14:00 CET / 21:00 HKT

Global crypto – lessons learned from market distress

While cryptoasset market conditions seem to have improved (for now), what lessons have been learned from the turbulent period seen in 2022-23? Following high-profile insolvencies of significant market participants, we consider the key issues for crypto market participants that have arisen as companies have been wound down, and what steps businesses, regulators and other market participants should be taking to protect themselves against future liquidity and solvency concerns.

Speakers: 

Chris Farmer, Senior Managing Director, Financial Advisory, Teneo (BVI) Limited

Professor Louise Gullifer KC (Hon) FBA, The University of Cambridge

Tim Lees, Partner, Clifford Chance

Donna Wacker, Partner, Clifford Chance

Virtual
11:00 EDT / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 23:00 HKT

Navigating fintech M&A and partnerships – tech and IP considerations

Our expert panellists, from a wide range of sectors and industries within fintech, will share insights on trends in M&A and partnerships. The panel will also discuss the essential tech and intellectual property (IP) considerations for fintech deal-making, including evaluating critical tech and IP assets (with a specific focus on software), along with related legal risks.

Additional speakers to be confirmed

Speakers: 

Jennifer Chimanga, Partner, Clifford Chance

Violetta Kokolus, Partner, Clifford Chance

Don McCombie, Partner, Clifford Chance

Virtual
Thursday 14 March 2024
TimeDescriptionLocation
05:00 EDT / 09:00 GMT / 10:00 CET / 17:00 HKT

Tokenisation in the financial markets

Sharing insights from pioneering platforms and issuances, our expert panellists will explore tokenisation across financial services, looking at the current market state and how it is likely to develop. They will discuss how the use of distributed ledger technology (DLT) might transform both the market for primary issuance and secondary market post-trade settlement, collateral and custody, as well as the likely increase of funds, equity and asset tokenisation.


Speakers: 

Sachin Dehra, Head of EMEA BlackRock Global Markets Legal, BlackRock

Sarah James, Executive Director and Senior Counsel, Digital Assets Legal, Goldman Sachs

Tom Pikett, Executive Director, Global Digital Product Lead, Trading Services, J.P. Morgan

Jeremy Walter, Partner, Clifford Chance
Virtual
09:00 EDT / 13:00 GMT / 14:00 CET / 21:00 HKT

AI for financial services – exploring the opportunities and risks

The direction for a new, global phase of AI regulation is being set following the 2023 publication of the G7 and Hiroshima principles, the Bletchley Declaration on AI safety signed by 28 jurisdictions, the Biden Administration's 2023 Executive Order on AI and AI Bill of Rights, and the recent historic political agreement on the EU's AI Act. Our international panellists will consider the impact of the rapidly evolving AI regulatory landscape globally and discuss the developing legal, ethical and reputational risks that financial institutions face when using AI.

Additional speakers to be confirmed

Speakers: 

Aman Thind, Executive Vice President, Global Chief Architect, State Street

Boika Deleva, Senior Associate, Clifford Chance

James McPhillips, Partner, Clifford Chance

Kate Scott, Partner, Clifford Chance

Virtual
11:00 EDT / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 23:00 HKT

Keynote closing: Talking Tech with...The Honorable Caroline D. Pham, Commissioner, US CFTC

Fireside chat between The Honorable Caroline D. Pham, Commissioner, US Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) and Clifford Chance Senior Associate, Jesse Overall.

Speakers: 

Honorable Caroline D. Pham, Commissioner, US CFTC

Jesse Overall, Senior Associate, Clifford Chance

Virtual